Jean Ruaud

Goals

One should have lots of aspirations, or goals, in one's life. You could call them dreams, but I don't think that would be right. We shouldn't care whether these goals, these ambitions, these ends (let's call them what we want) are reasonable or not, are achievable or not, just that they remain in the realm of the possible, of the real, and precisely not of the dream. For example, one of my aspirations is to live in New York City. It's highly unlikely that I'll ever get there, but that doesn't stop it being a goal in my life. So I have lots of goals, lots of objectives, far more than I could ever hope to achieve. Making discoveries and meeting new people naturally inspires me to set many new goals. For example, when I discover a writer I like or who interests me, I set myself the goal of reading everything that writer has published, and even meeting him or her if he or she is alive. Somewhere in the back of my mind, I have goals to write a book, to take up macro photography, to play jazz and blues guitar, to learn music theory, to eat healthier and less fatty foods, to live a long life, to live by the Mediterranean, etc. . . Writing directly and perfectly in English, rather than translating what I've written in French, is also one of my goals. Goals can be tiny or large, small or huge, they just have to be, and there have to be a lot of them.